Skip navigation

I’m just sitting in my room… sort of in a half food coma listening to Imogen Heap.

houston chinese food = ownage

——

green onion pancake

my dad likes green onion pancakes… haha

Tampopo, a Movie about a women trying to save her Ramen business, is the most hilarious film I’ve seen in a long time. Bittorrent, or get it from me… it’s like watching iron chef for the first time.

I went home this weekend to get my birth certificate… and other things to renew my passport for my trip to taiwan this winter. My mom is totally against me going over seas, in fact shes so over protective of me that I’ve never been to asia before. The mission is to sneak the stuff out of her room’s desk drawer where she keeps all that stuff.

I arrive home around 6pm. I’m relieved to see that the construction on Bellaire has finished, no more last minute shifts to the right most lane. The left turn into my neighborhood turns green as I approach it… but I know that I’d better speed up because it’s only good for 2-3 cars.

It’s already sunset and both of my parents aren’t home. My mom is in her 50’s, my dad in his late 60’s… they still work from 9 am to 8pm. Usually the front door’s lock doesn’t work, but I try it anyways, it works… and I remember my mom calling me months ago about finally getting it fixed. As I enter I hear the familiar roar of my neighbor’s GTR.

The living room is exactly the same, the house… looks the same. Even the junk I left out of my initial college packing is still on the couch.

Everything is as suspected since my parents are never in the house anyways. My mom and dad come back from work at about 8, we leave for dinner at 9. Where to? My dad cut out a newspaper article about this place in the same plaza as 101, that supposedly got an A from some Houston food critic. I wanted to go to xi fu lai for some stinky tofu, but my dad was adamant about trying this place out. My mom took a long time like usual, she even ran on the treadmill for like 5 minutes.

We left around 9 and I managed to convince my parents to drive in a separate car since I’ll be “studying” afterwards.

My mom ordered a S*** ton of food like always. I think we ordered 6 dishes for the 3 of us. I remember as a kid I always used to think it was embarrassing to order too much food because it was wasteful, or maybe more psychologically, since I was a big kid… and it would be embarrassing for people to see me with a ton of food. I’ve stopped fighting it, no need to start any commotion with my mom.

After we order I see the older lady who took our order in the corner eying us, probably cause my mom looks quite different than most… she puts on a TON of makeup.

I stuffed myself with everything… the rice was just the perfect consistency! My dad got green onion pancakes… yes!

I started some random conversation about this algorithm we’re learning in cs336, but it was clear that I had no idea what I was talking about. Luckily it related to my mom’s thesis… and she went off on a tangent for the rest of dinner. Dad was was silent the entire time. I don’t think he ever talks when mom is around since they always break out into some argument when he does. For those of you who don’t know me as well, they divorced 4 years ago, and recently got back together. As for me? my psychological problems and weight grew exponentially during that time. They always argue… but something keeps them together.

It’s nice to have a meal outside with your family. I’m pretty lucky…

Leave a Reply

