Skip navigation

Yeah… even though I’ve had my film camera for a few days, I’ve barely taken any pictures. So I’m just going to talk about random stuff.

Ishimoto Yasuhiro

Thu informed me of this exhibit at Houston’s Museum of Fine Arts. (MFAH)

Go see this exhibit NOW.

yasuhiro-ishimoto-chicago-30s

Ishimoto was born in 1921 in San Fransisco. Even though his pictures include amazing candid photos similar to Junku, my favorite flickr photographer, he throws pictures with historical significance into the mix. Japanese WWII internment camps… Matin Luther King rallies, JFK, Nixon, Reagan… you name it, he was there.

His photos make you take a second look at things… as if one should behold the somewhat awkward beauty of even the simplest events.

Yasuhiro Ishimoto small

I was astonished by the quality of the film prints… WOW. The sharpness and depth are mindblowing. I thought to myself, “Who needs 24 megapixels when a camera from the 1950’s can produce something like this!” Sadly, I would need a darkroom to even try to recreate some of his works. The Nikon D5000 and the Canon T1i can go F*** themselves. The online scans do not do the real life prints justice.

Again, You have to go see this exhibit for yourself. I can’t even find any of the pictures at the exhibit online.

-Was I doomed from the start?

How did I even become a part of this whole DSLR craze? Am I destined to buy every state-of-the-art piece of equipment out there?

Does owning the latest Gary Fong Light Sphere, strobe light, “fast” zoom lens, or pocket wizard make me a better photographer?

Will all my pictures be of a subject smiling into my camera, with my aperture set at f2.8 to blow the bejeezus out of the background?

I wonder if I’ll ever be able to take a picture that… “punches” you in the face. A picture that will make the viewer question what they’re looking at… or perhaps just sit there with their mouths wide open in amazement.

Leave a Reply

